Having Fun with Origami

When things get really serious and heavy to carry, this is how I digress – either I write, do arts, or play music and just recently, make crafts. 

It became a newest past time for me and my sister.  She made the really difficult butterfly origami (see photo below). Very pretty they are, aren’t they? I believe I’ll learn this another time as it is far too intricate for me. 😀

Butterfly Origami by my sister Ate Abeden

Swallowtail Butterfly Origami by my sister Ate Abeden

Before starting, I first practiced making a lily origami using a colored art paper through a Youtube tutorial – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PWylGb8EyQw.

There are thousands of tutorials to choose from on origami-making uploaded in Youtube and I must admit I really had a hard time choosing which one should I do first as I wanted to learn all of them.  I first made the single petal lily and the multiple petal next. It took me a whole lot dozen of them before I finally memorized the procedure without referring to the video.

Patience is a virtue, indeed. 😉

Lily Origami in Art Paper

Lily Origami in Art Paper

After making them, my sister and I thought we wanted to make our origami crafts more “personalized” so we have decided to use a white paper instead of the regular colored art paper and painted them using poster color.

White paper and Poster Color

White paper and Poster Color

We allowed it to dry for a couple of minutes before starting to fold.

Two-tone

Two-tone

I used pink for the primary color of my lily and lavender as an undertone brushing with left to right strokes. Of course, a flower cannot stand alone so I made the stem origami using a color green art paper and a flower box origami using a black special paper. 

This is the final result. Do make your own personalized origami as well. I assure you, it is so much fun. Enjoy! 🙂

Multi Petaled Lily Origami and Flower Box Origami

Multi Petal Lily Origami and Flower Box Origami

2 thoughts on “Having Fun with Origami

Got thoughts? Share 'em! :-)

