MAY the Flowers Be with You

Yes, it is “Flores de Mayo” or Flowers of May. 🙂

It is a yearly tradition celebrated during the month of May here in the Philippines. If you want to know more about this tradition, you can check Wikipedia’s article here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flores_de_Mayo.

But this blog post is not going to be about the tradition per se but the flora and fauna photos I took one summer in my hometown in Bicol. That is because I love communing with nature THAT MUCH. Anywhere that has luscious greens, colorful flowers and a beautiful scenery – you will see me scrutinizing everything with the lens. But Mom’s garden is my usual favorite “playground.” 🙂

Tin Ginete

The tiniest ground orchid I have seen.

Tin Ginete

Cymbidium Orchid

Tin Ginete

Forgot to ask Mom what is this called. 😀

Tin Ginete

Cattleya Orchid

Tin Ginete

Dendrodium Orchid

But this last photo fascinated me the most in this collection. Not because it is an extraordinary specie but the concept of the subjects proved to be quite interesting for me. Although that is me – I just have a knack for making the simple to complicated and the mundane to absurd. 😀

Tin Ginete

Hydrangea

I was just reminded by the obvious contrast between these two subjects: a fresh flower and a wilted one. I only remembered one verse while staring at the two:

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!”

2 Corinthians 5:17

And with that, I end my article. 😉

9 thoughts on “MAY the Flowers Be with You

  1. Those photos are amazing. The first article I see this morning and so many colors. Excellent article from beginning to end. Great bit of cultural history then into the photos. Excellent. A little something for everyone.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Aloe Vera Overload | The Journeyman's Moments

Got thoughts? Share 'em! :-)

