Lordship: The Life After

 

Tin Ginete

The Road

Imagine yourself on a highway which has a blind curve and you don’t see what’s behind it or if there is an incoming vehicle. You just don’t have any idea.

That was the feeling I always used to have. I was just cruising down this lane which we call “life” based on how this world defines it – complicated, troubled, dirty, rough, broken, pain and suffering. They are but just some of the words that I could use to describe what life meant for me before. For I never knew who God and Jesus Christ really were back then.

Failed relationships.

They are but what defined most of my past. It was always the search for that right love with the right person. It came to a point I begged for it, I sacrificed a lot to have it including my career, my studies, my family’s respect  – all because of that enigma which we call “love.”

Love is all encompassing. I can use all the words in the dictionary but not one will define it alone. Its definition varies. And yet it exists.

Yes, it does.

And the greatest example of this was through the son of our God, Jesus Christ – THE CROSS.

“For God so loved the world that He gave His one and only Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life.” – John 3:16

I got to know this kind of love when I got saved. It was that moment of surrendering everything to Him, simply because everything was too much to bear and I was lost. Not even my family nor my friends could help me from my loss. I am helpless, depressed, hopeless, and desperate. Shame, guilt, and anger are creeping within me fast that I decided to reach out and ask for help before it is too late. And so I did ask for help – from Him.

“For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.” – Romans 6:23

“But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.” – Matthew 6:33

It was my brother who introduced me to the faith. I was apprehensive to say “yes” when he invited me to go to church at Victory Fort. But after attending the first service, revelations after revelations happened. Miracles and signs begun appearing that not even my brother have the words to explain it.

It was then that I believed that indeed, we have a God. And He listens and sees everything.

But it wasn’t as easy as that. There were times that I was called back to who I was, I was not consistent in going to church because it’s far from our place and I couldn’t establish fellowship with other believers. I still feel incomplete. The faith was there, but not really there. Until finally, an incident wherein my life itself was put at stake made me do a complete turnaround. It was then that I have decided to search for a Victory church in QC and found one at GT Toyota Asian Center (Victory QC) inside my alma mater in UP Diliman. After attending a couple of church services, I finally had the courage to approach the concierge and inquire about a Victory Group. Days later, I was assigned one led by Sheryl San Diego, who became both a friend and a spiritual mentor to me. She offered if I’d like to undergo a One-to-One Discipleship with her to which I said, “Yes.”

That was then the beginning of my spiritual journey. A slow but sure process of series of transformations, of an old self being peeled off inch by inch, layer by layer until came the Victory Weekend. That most unforgettable moment which was the highlight of my new found love for Christ and God, the beginning of my spiritual journey and the day I committed to have a personal relationship with the Lord. This was indeed Lordship and the life after.

VictoryWeekend

Victory Weekend 3/3/13 (Photo credit: Charls de los Reyes)

Tin Ginete

Water baptism with Sheryl San Diego and Maj Yu (Photo credit: Joyce Tan)

I was nothing more but GRATEFUL, RENEWED and READY to face the future. Even as I type this article down, I could not help but cry buckets of tears. Not because of the past, but because I could not imagine living my life right now if it wasn’t for the GRACE – the gift of SALVATION.

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come. The old has gone, the new is here!” – 2 Corinthians 5:17

It’s been two years since I got saved. My salvation and walk with God did not promise a storm-free life but it promised a storm-proof life through the “Armor of God.”

“Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes.” – Ephesians 6:11

Because now, I can confidently stand and say that by the love, grace and mercy of God, every heartbreak and headache will be just that. For your every loss, God will replace all of them with what you really need. You will be given new opportunities and relationships that will help you grow and nourish your faith. A new life so to speak.

And though I may fall sometimes, I know who to turn to and I know who to plead for help. Because I have a God who HEALS, a God who PROVIDES, a God who PROTECTS and a God who SAVES.

“But those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” – Isaiah 40:31

“I can do all things through Him who gives me strength.” – Philippians 4:13

I have nothing to fear. Not even death. For I know now that everything I have now is not mine. I have learned to let go and let God take control of my life. I have learned to trust Him with my whole life.

“For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline.” – 2 Timothy 1:7

I may leave this world anytime soon and yet until eternity I carry with me this verse that I hold dear in my heart:

“Fight the good fight of the faith. Take hold of the eternal life to which you were called when you made your good confession in the presence of many witnesses.” – 1 Timothy 6:12

And I will praise His Name forever and ever come what may. GLORY BE TO GOD!

Tin Ginete

Victory Weekend 3/3/13 (Photo credit: Charls de los Reyes)

http://victory.org.ph/

#radicalsince1984 #myVictoryStory #JESUSperiod

2 thoughts on “Lordship: The Life After

Got thoughts? Share 'em! :-)

